Incentive Grants

Call for Proposals

We are no longer accepting proposals for incentive grants.

Grant Description

The Digital Humanities Committee accepts proposals from faculty interested in developing a digital humanities project for a course on a regular basis. Our goal is to promote hands-on projects that foster critical thinking through research-based digital methods. All faculty developing and assigning projects that relate to the humanities and the humanistic social sciences are eligible. Projects that carry the weight and significance of the traditional term paper are eligible for a $1500 award. Projects that amount to the equivalent of an assignment are eligible for a $750 award. Applicants should explain in their proposal how their course or assignments meet at least three Digital Humanities learning objectives. Please contact the Digital Humanities Action Team at for an initial consultation. All applicants must meet with the DHAT before applying.

This program is made possible by a grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Incentive Grant Awardees


  • Rebecca Benefiel
  • Laura Brodie
  • Ashley Lazevnick
  • Seth Michelson
  • Melissa Vise

Spring 2018

  • Stephanie Sandberg
  • Andrew Ferguson

Winter 2018

  • Shikha Silwal
  • Mikki Brock

Fall 2017

  • Jonathan Eastwood
  • Stephen Lind
  • Sascha Goluboff
  • Taylor Walle
  • Ricardo Wilson

Winter 2017

  • Florinda Ruiz
  • Caleb Dance

Fall 2016

  • Sydney Bufkin
  • Genelle Gertz
  • Sascha Goluboff
  • Wan-Chuan Kao
  • Kary Smout


  • Claudette Artwick
  • Mikki Brock – report
  • Laura Brodie
  • Owen Collins
  • Holly Pickett
  • Summer Renault-Steele


  • Joel Blecher
  • Christa Bowden
  • Jonathan Eastwood
  • Genelle Gertz – report


  • Hank Dobin
  • Sascha Goluboff
  • Wan-Chuan Kao
  • Howard Pickett